Sen. Kennedy Diagnosed With Brain Tumor

THE NEWS AIN’T GOOD TODAY

We sadly bring you the following update on Senator Edward Kennedy:

By GLEN JOHNSON
Associated Press Writer

A cancerous brain tumor caused the seizure Sen. Edward M. Kennedy suffered over the weekend, doctors said Tuesday in a grim diagnosis for one of American politics’ most enduring figures.

Doctors for the Massachusetts Democrat say tests conducted after Kennedy suffered a seizure this weekend show a tumor in his left parietal lobe. Preliminary results from a biopsy of the brain identified the cause of the seizure as a malignant glioma.

His treatment will be decided after more tests but the usual course includes combinations of radiation and chemotherapy.

“I’m really sad,” former Sen. Bob Kerrey, D-Neb., said when told in a Senate hallway about Kennedy’s condition. “He’s the one politician who brings tears to my eyes when he speaks.”

Senator Edward M. Kennedy, AP photo

The 76-year-old senator has been hospitalized in Boston since Saturday, when he was airlifted from Cape Cod after a seizure at his home.

“He has had no further seizures, remains in good overall condition, and is up and walking around the hospital,” said a joint statement issued by Dr. Lee Schwamm, vice chairman of the Department of Neurology at Massachusetts General Hospital and Dr. Larry Ronan, Kennedy’s primary care physician.

The doctors said Kennedy will remain in the hospital “for the next couple of days according to routine protocol.”

“He remains in good spirits and full of energy,” they said.

Kennedy’s wife and children have been with him each day but have made no public statements.

Malignant gliomas are a type of brain cancer diagnosed in about 9,000 Americans a year – and the most common type among adults. It’s a starting diagnosis: How well patients fare depends on what specific tumor type is determined by further testing.

Average survival can range from less than a year for very advanced and aggressive types – such as glioblastomas – or to about five years for different types that are slower growing.

Kennedy, the second-longest serving member of the Senate and a dominant figure in national Democratic Party politics, was elected in 1962, filling out the term won by his brother, John F. Kennedy.

Kennedy eldest brother, Joseph, was killed in a World War II airplane crash. President John Kennedy was assassinated in 1963 and his brother Robert was assassinated in 1968.

Kennedy is active for his age, maintaining an aggressive schedule on Capitol Hill and across Massachusetts. He has made several campaign appearances for the Illinois senator in February, and most recently another in April.

Kennedy, the senior senator from Massachusetts and the Senate’s second-longest serving member, was re-elected in 2006 and is not up for election again until 2012.

Were he to resign or die in office, state law requires a special election for the seat no sooner than 145 days and no later than 160 days after the vacancy occurs.

 

AP reporter Lauran Neergaard in Washington contributed to this report.

 

7 Comments

Filed under election 2008, JFK, JFK Jr., John F. Kennedy, john f. kennedy jr., media, politics, president kennedy, RFK, RFK Jr., robert f. kennedy, robert kennedy jr., senator robert kennedy, the kennedys, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Sen. Kennedy Diagnosed With Brain Tumor

  1. hb

    Under universal health care, what care would Sen Kennedy receive? More? Less? Choose own doctor? Experimental drugs or procedures?

  2. Jack Mosel

    I’ve always hoped and held out for Sen. Ted Kennedy to run for the Presidency… I pray for his peace of mind and for his health and well being throughout this ordeal.

    Cancer… One of many ills and a veritable plague to many of us, may inevitably claim another victim. Sadly, it’s Ted Kennedy, a man who had probably some of the best health care coverage availabe as a U.S. Senator. I wonder what 8 years of stem cell research, which we have been denied from our dictator of moral authority, could have provided to lengthen and perhaps cure cancer and so many other maladies like ALS, Parkinsons and paralysis from spinal injuries.

    I am comforted knowing that this time may be Sen. Kennedy’s swan song in his public life and that in it, he threw his hat in the Presidential ring along with his Niece, to back up Barack Obama in championing real change and real justice in our government.

    I would defer back to the first comments I made in this blog in my hopes that Sen. Kennedy would realize that in what might be the latter portion of his mortality, that he go entirely public in his current capacity as a U.S. Senator with high credentials and call for the public and legal support to rein in this government of Fascist criminals. I would hope that he might see this as being an appropriate time time to leave political concerns at the door and to expose the Fascist NWO from what he knows of their criminal activities upto and including the defamtions and physical assasinations of his own flesh and blood (twice). If I were Sen. Kennedy, I wouldn’t see this request as being callouse and un-empathetic. Sen. Kennedy has a wonderful legacy which he earned over my entire lifetime of public service. I will miss knowing that he is defending me actually.

    He’s not gone yet and he’s not a timid man. I believe that if he has the capacity… he will go out fighting like nothing we’ve seen before, he knows just how important this time is to our country. He knows all to well that his entire life has been to champion the very causes of criminality and traitotorous activity that he has seen now first hand and ironically at a crescendo at the dusk of his life in this fight, he has a chance to give a knock out punch to our enemies from within… I hope and pray for his peace and his personal comfort in these days… I feel compelled to say these things on the site which holds vigil for all things Kennedy and all things political to Kennedy’s… Which is one in the same, so why wouldn’t it be appropriate for me to expect this great patriotic embodiment of Americana to “go out” by taking a few traitors with him….

    God Speed Sen. Kennedy

  3. S. Eason

    Please, please let us know where we can send our love and prayers. The Honorable Edward M. Kennedy is our Monarch, our King, our Beloved unlike any in any other country because the whole World feels the same.

    Kennedy Family… we love you, we appreciate you, we hurt too! If anyone can survive this illness, He will because all our prayers will lift him so high miracles will seem minute.

    Again, thank you to “The” Kennedy Family, I love you, you are loved so much from the very small and unfortunate to the high and mighty… you’ve given us your all, you deserve it all back!

  4. To Senator Kennedy’s many admirers who have come to this blog for news and updates in recent days; those of you who post your well wishes here; and for all who have contacted me privately over the past few days, thank you for all the love and support you’ve shown.

    It is truly amazing the way people come together at times like these…I’ve heard from old friends recently that I hadn’t seen in years, calling just to express their sorrow at the news and hope that he will somehow beat this, as he has bounced back so many times before.

    The Kennedy family is asking that people send their thoughts and get-well wishes through Senator Kennedy’s official website, http://tedkennedy.com. They are monitoring and delivering all messages to him, and of course, I know they deeply appreciate your prayers at this time, too.

    Something else I must say: As editor of this blog: I’ve been absolutely shocked and appalled by the high number of mean-spirited comments which have been submitted to us since Ted’s diagnosis. I mean, some of this stuff just breaks my heart and makes me sick to my stomach.

    What I’ve read over the past 24 hours from some very disturbed and hate-filled people out there honestly make me wonder what drives the pathology of someone who would say a thing like “may all the Kennedys die and be forgotten” …especially now, of all times. As if ANYONE deserves to be handed a diagnosis of malignant brain cancer.

    Sweet Jesus. You might think that such talk only came from one lone nutter out there, but we are sorry to report that we probably rec’d at least 20 comments along those lines just yesterday, and we’re totally sickened by it.

    So, here’s a MEMO TO ALL THE HEARTLESS IDIOTS : Comments like these are immediately deleted. They will not ever be posted on this site, so don’t waste your time.

    If you’re going to bring up Chappaquiddick or any of the Senator’s past mistakes or family tragedies at a time like this, you won’t be doing it on this blog!

    Can’t ya’ll give it a rest for now and show the man’s family some respect, for heaven’s sake?

    It is our editorial policy to *never* publish personal, below-the-belt or hateful attacks on the Kennedys, and that policy will be more strictly enforced than ever by our editors now.

    All submitted comments will be held in moderation and carefully reviewed before they are approved, so we just ask that the GOOD GUYS AND GALS please be patient with us during this process – it may take a little longer than usual for your comments to show up on the site.

    Thanks for your attention to this (and for allowing this editor to *vent* a little!) – we appreciate your patience, your support, and all of the kind-hearted patriots out there who have sent your love and support to Senator Kennedy and the entire family. God bless you.

  5. chrisy58

    I wanted to start off by saying that I prayed my rosary for Senator Kennedy yesterday and plan to say a rosary everyday for him right now as I feel he needs my prayers. I ask all Catholics tp pray a rosary for him and his family.

    NF, I posted about the hate filled comments on my blog. I called them evil because they are evil. One of the battles I am fighting for is against racism. They have so much hate in their hearts for those of us who do not share their dark vision for this country. I will continue to expose their evil fruit so that more Americans can wake up to the truth that the Right Wing/White Nationalists are destroying this country and people have got to start fighting back with the truth so that we can take this country back.

    I think the comment that made me the sickest was one that some guy said “that the only Kennedy is a good Kennedy.” I replied that one Summer I protected a Kennedy from my mother’s wrath by taking that wrath and abuse on myself so he wouldn’t have tp deal with it. I would do it again because that is what true friends do for each other. Even all these years later and the misunderstandings etc I would still protect this friend from any harm coming his way. I don’t turn off friendship like a cold and hot water tap. Once someone is my friend in my heart they are always my friend.

    I really got upset seeing their comments because that person that they want dead because he just happens to have the last name Kennedy is my friend. Joe isn’t perfect but I still remember the good times. Sometimes when he would see me walking toward him he would light up like a chirstmas tree. He has such a beautiful smile.

    Joe has so much potential to really make a difference in the fight against evil in this world. There is still a part of me that is sorry he gave up political office. I still hope he will run for Senate or some other office. We need him in the fight against evil in this world. One of the last times I spoke to him was just after a trip to Ireland and I told him how proud I was of him, because I was. Anyway, I hope he will come out of retirement and decide to come out and join the fight to save this country.

    We can judge people by the fruit they bear. Are they bearing good fruit or are they bearing bad fruit? Those haters NF are bearing evil fruit. I have to believe that their hate will destroy them in the end. I believe that the American people are basically good at heart and that is why we are sending our get well thoughts, our prayers and rosary, and sending our love and support to Senator Kennedy and the Kennedy family at this time. That good fruit in our hearts is what is motivating us to send our love at this time.

    I for one am still in shock as I didn’t expect this.

    I think one difference between us and them who spew such hate in their heart toward Ted Kennedy and the Kennedy’s is that if President Bush (Curious George) as I call him had a brain tumor I would send him well wishes and pray a rosary for him. That is what decent human beings do for each other. I just don’t see us Liberals spewing the hate that the Right Wing has spewed against Ted Kennedy. I would hope that we would show compassion toward the Bush family.

  6. Pingback: General Robert E. Lee

  7. Pingback: Edward

Leave a Reply

