“At This Point, I Would Run” – RFK Jr.

In a recent interview with Oprah Winfrey, Robert F. Kennedy Jr. did away with his former protestations of having no interest in running for public office. He told her “at this point, I would run if there were an office open because I’m so distressed about the kind of country my children will inherit.”

(Pssst…Bobby, there *is* an office open, just waiting for you to claim it in 2008. The Oval Office.) 

“I’ve always avoided politics because I didn’t want to make commitments that would take me away from raising my children.” Kennedy said. “But now America has changed so drastically that I’m asking myself: What’s going to be left of this country? I’m spending time with my kids, but maybe my time would be spent just as well if I tried to save the country.”  

“I’ve tried to cling to the idea that I could be of public service without compromising my family life,” he told Oprah. “But at this point, I would run.”

At this point, I would run. Notice he says that not once, not twice, but three times in his talk with Oprah.

The interview, which appeared in the February 2007 issue of O Magazine, was the first time Kennedy has gone on the record saying that he is actively considering the possibilities of a run.

When asked if he would ever try for the Presidency, Kennedy certainly didn’t say no.

Robert F. Kennedy Jr. with Oprah Winfrey

It is clear that Robert F. Kennedy Jr.’s time is now, and he seems to realize it. From his recent public statements, we would not be speculating to say that he is obviously giving the matter serious thought.

Like any good patriot, RFK Jr. cannot turn a deaf ear to the call of his country. He accurately senses that there is a time for home and family, and there is also a time to serve. When one’s draft number is called up, a soldier has no choice but to report for duty.

Trying to balance the strong pull he feels towards serving his country as an elected representative versus his family obligations as a husband and father of six is what seems to occupy his thoughts most in recent months. This is the essence of what he told Oprah when asked how he feels about a possible run:

Robert F. Kennedy Jr. with Oprah WinfreyRobert F. Kennedy Jr. with Oprah WinfreyOprah: Why haven’t you run for office?

Bobby: I’ve got six reasons running around this house. But at this point, I would run if there were an office open because I’m so distressed about the kind of country my children will inherit. I’ve tried to cling to the idea that I could be of public service without compromising my family life. But at this point, I would run.

Oprah: For what?

Bobby: I might run for the Senate or for the governor’s office (in New York). But my friends are in those offices, and I’m not going to run against them.

Oprah: Why didn’t you run for New York attorney general?

Bobby: Because I really didn’t want to be attorney general. I have the kind of life where I can take my kids on trips with me. I can involve them in my work. I’ve always avoided politics because I didn’t want to make commitments that would take me away from raising these children. But now America has changed so dramatically that I’m asking myself: What’s going to be left of this country? I’m spending time with my kids, but maybe my time would be spent just as well if I tried to save the country.

Oprah: Would you ever run for president?

Bobby: I don’t know what the future will bring. I really just try to live my life one day at a time and do what I’m supposed to do on that day. But if opportunities came up for me to run for office, I would probably do it. If that doesn’t happen, then I’ll happily continue doing what I’m doing.

RFK Jr, Oprah, and Falcon

PHOTO CAPTION: RFK Jr. with Oprah Winfrey and a friend’s falcon, from the recent O Magazine feature. Mr. Kennedy is a licensed master falconer and a lifelong falconry enthusiast. 

We encourage you to check out the entire O Magazine feature on Robert F. Kennedy Jr.. In one of the most soul-searching and in-depth interviews he has given in recent memory, RFK Jr. opens up and talks about his thoughts on the 2008 election, his lifelong love for the environment, his family, and speaks candidly about how he struggled with drug addiction after the death of his father. Eight pages in length, it is packed with exclusive photos of Bobby at home, at work, and at play with his kids.

This interview is a great introduction to who Bobby really is and what he thinks about the greatest issues facing the world today. Read the Oprah Winfrey interview here (you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed to view this document in .PDF format. You can also right click the link above to download the file to your computer.)

Help us send a strong message of support to Bobby that we need him and will support him if he chooses to run. Please SIGN THE PETITION to draft Robert F. Kennedy Jr. for president in 2008 today, and be sure to email it to several of your friends!

CLICK HERE TO SIGN THE PETITION!

4 Comments

Filed under election 2008, politics, president kennedy, RFK Jr., robert kennedy jr.

4 responses to ““At This Point, I Would Run” – RFK Jr.

  1. phil martin

    Yeah, the guy should run. We’re about ready for another Kennedy, but I’m not sure a Kennedy is ready for that office again. They’ve suffered enough, so I wouldn’t be disappointed if he decided to do something else with his life. But he seems to have chosen politics, and that being the case, I’m all for him running. He’d get my vote.

    phil martin
    brady, texas
    (everybody down here isn’t a nut case)

  2. Leonidas Frank

    Bobby, may I offer you some unsolicited advice? Skip the Governorship and Senator seat from NY. Don’t waste your efforts and four years of precious time in the Congress. Americans now have a lower opinion of our Congress than ever before in history! Why join that pack of losers and be forever labeled a “Washington insider?” We’re SICK AND TIRED OF WASINGTON INSIDERS AND BUSINESS AS USUAL!

    the fact that youre NOT a ‘Washington insider” is your greatest strength.

    Run for president in 2008 & let’s put a Kennedy back in the white house!!!!

  3. albert warbritton

    I hope & pray that he does run because he will win by a landslide.
    When he starts his campaign? please, please, please don’t fly in any small planes !!

  4. Mr. Frank posted a comment above that got me wondering:

    “Would RFK Jr. be wasting his time and energy in the Senate?” Good question.

    One one hand, it would be nice to see him follow in the footsteps of his father and uncles (JFK and Teddy) into the Senate, and in some ways it wouldn’t hurt for him to have that experience on his resume.’

    On the other hand, being a member of Congress requires a certain temperament and willingness to compromise that most of the Kennedys (excepting Ted) did not posess. Both Jack and Bobby felt stifled and ineffective during their years in the Congress. They did not have the patience the process requires, and often felt frustrated that it was so difficult to get anything done there.

    The truth is, one or two crusading Congresspeople can try their best to introduce important legislation (such as to Impeach Bush, or get us out of Iraq), but without a majority, these bills cannot pass. One man or woman alone cannot change the world serving as a member of the US Congress.

    Dennis Kucinich is a perfect case in point. That’s why he’s running for President! He knows where the real power is.

    Bobby’s uncle JFK probably summed it up best when he said:

    ” During my years in the Senate, I’ve come to understand that the Presidency is the ultimate source of action. The Senate is not. All of the things that you become interested in doing, the president can do. The Senate can not, particularly in the area of foreign policy.”

    – President John F. Kennedy, dictation for his unfinished memoirs

    I think Bobby Kennedy’s time is NOW. The world cannot wait until 2012.

Leave a Reply

